Indian Journal of Chemistry


Sect. B: Organic Chemistry including Medicinal Chemistry;


VOL. 52B


May 2013










Diterpenic labdane galactofuranosides from the roots of Calotropis procera (Ait.) R. Br.


Two labdane-type diterpenic galactosides characterized as labdan-18-ol-b-d-galactofuranoside 4 and labdan-3β-ol-11,15-olide-18,20-dioic acid-3β-d-glactofuranoside 5 have been isolated for the first time from the roots of Calotropis procera (Ait.) R. Br. (Asclepiadaceae) along with the known compound n-decanoyl-β-d-glucopyranoside 1, n-hexacosanoyl-β-d-glucopyranoside 2 and n-octadecanoyl-β-d-glucopyranoside 3. The structures of all these phytoconstituents have been established on the basis of spectral data analysis and chemical reactions.







4                                                                                                                5









A Mittal & M Ali*


Department of Pharmacognosy and Phytochemistry, Faculty of Pharmacy,
Jamia Hamdard (Hamdard University), Hamdard Nagar, New Delhi 110 062, India















Acetic anhydride induced rearrangement and Grignard addition on C-phenyl-N-(1-methyl-2-aryl)­ethyl nitrones


Acetic anhydride induced rearrangement of C-phenyl-N-(1-methyl-2-aryl)ethyl nitrones and the addition of Grignard reagent on these nitrones, yielding substituted amides and hydroxylamines respectively, have been described.













Chinnadurai Amutha, Sivaperuman Saravanan & Shanmugam Muthusubramanian*


Department of Organic Chemistry, Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai 625 021, India









Synthesis of salidroside analogues and their ability of DPPH radical scavenging activity


2-(3,4,5-Trihydroxyphenyl)ethyl β-d-galactopyranoside and 3-(3,4, 5-Trihydroxyphenyl)propyl β-d-glucopyranoside exhibited signi­ficant activity with EC50 values of 35.85 µM and 36.71 µM, respectively.













Cheng Zheng, Yibing Guo, Ying Meng, SuFeng Dou, Jian Shao & YuMin Yang*


Jiangsu Key Laboratory of Neuroregeneration, Nantong University, 19 Qixiu Road, Nantong, Jiangsu 226001, P. R. China















Heterocyclization reactions of ketene dithiolates


The reaction of ketene dithiolates in the presence of K2CO3 lead to bisthioalkylated products and thienothiophene derivatives depending on the strength of the base. The 1,5-diamino groups in thienothiophene compounds are subjected to heterocyclization under PTC conditions to get a variety of fused heterocycles.









Bhumireddy Chinnachennaiahgari Venkatesh, Nabhubygari Mahaboob Basha,

Adivireddy Padmaja & Venkatapuram Padmavathi*


Department of Chemistry, Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati 517 502, India









Antimicrobial evaluation of some novel isoxazoles, cyanopyridines and pyrimidinthiones


The title compounds 7a-f, 8a-f and 9a-f have been prepared from chalcones 6a-f having s-triazine nucleus. These chalcones on cyclisation with hydroxyl amine hydrochloride in the presence of alkali and malononitrile in the presence of ammonium acetate give isoxazoles 7a-f and cyanopyridines 8a-f respectively. Chalcones 6a-f on condensation with thiourea in the presence of alkali give pyrimidinthiones 9a-f . Structures of newly synthesised compounds have been established on the basis of their elemental analysis, IR and 1H NMR spectral data. All the synthesised compounds have been screened for their antimicrobial activity.










Anjani Solankee*, Kirti Patel & Rajnikant Patel


Department of Chemistry, B. K. M. Science College, Valsad 396 001, India















Synthesis of some new isoxazolyl­dihydro­[1,2,4]­tria­zolo[1,5-b] isoxazoles and dihydroimidazo[4,5-b]­indolyl­isoxazoles as possible biodynamic agents


Synthesis of new isoxazolyl[1,2,4]triazolo[1,5-b]isoxazoles and imidazo[4,5-b]indolyl isoxazoles have been achieved by interaction of isoxazole Schiff base with isoxazole amines and isatin respectively.












E Rajanarendar*, P Venkateshwarlu & S Ramakrishna


Department of Chemistry, Kakatiya University, Warangal, 506 009, India

















Studies on reactions of anhydrides with Schiff bases


Reactions of various anhydrides with Schiff bases, which are sources of both amines and aldehydes, have been studied.













Padam Praveen Kumar*, S M G Mohiuddin, B Rama Devi & P K Dubey


Department of Chemistry, College of Engineering, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University

Kukatpally, Hyderabad 500 085, India















Synthesis of a novel water soluble phthalimide derivative of acetaminophen as potential analgesic and antipyretic agent


A short process for the preparation of water soluble, potential analgesic compound, N-[(4-hydroxy-phenylcarbamoyl)-methyl]-phthalamic acid has been developed.













Y Dathu Reddy*, Y Bharathi Kumari & P K Dubey


Department of Chemistry, College of Engineering, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University

Kukatpally, Hyderabad 500 085, India









Ammonium fluoride as an inexpensive catalyst for Knoevenagel condensation in solvent-free conditions under microwave irradiation


Ammonium fluoride (NH4F) has been found to be an inexpensive catalyst for Knoevenagel condensation between aromatic aldehydes 1 and active methylene compounds 2 to afford arylidene derivatives 3 in excellent yields.














K Mogilaiah*, A Vinay Chandra, K Jagadeeshwar & S Kavitha


Department of Chemistry, Kakatiya University, Warangal 506 009, India














Green synthesis and antibacterial activity of 3-aryl-4-formyl-1-[3-(4-fluorophenyl)-1,8-naphthyridin-2-yl]pyrazoles


An efficient and convenient method for the synthesis of 3-aryl-4-formyl-1-[3-(4-fluorophenyl)-1,8-naphthyridin-2-yl]pyrazoles 4 from acetophenone 3-(4-fluorophenyl)-1,8-naphthyridin-2-ylhydrazones 3 is achieved using POCl3-DMF over silica gel under microwave irradiation. The structural assignments of compounds 3 and 4 are based on their elemental analyses and spectral (IR, 1H NMR and MS) data. The compounds 4 have been screened for their antibacterial activity.








K Mogilaiah*, A Vinay Chandra, N Srivani & D Praveena


Department of Chemistry, Kakatiya University, Warangal 506 009, India






Authors for correspondence are indicated by (*)