Indian Journal of Chemistry

Sect. B: Organic Chemistry including Medicinal Chemistry

Total visitors: 61  since 08-01-08

VOL. 47B


January 2008







Ab initio and DFT investigation of the mechanism

and stereochemistry of electrophilic addition
reaction of chlorine to bicyclo[3.2.2]nona-6,8-diene


The mechanism and stereochemistry of the addition reaction to bicyclo [3.2.2]nona-6,8-diene of chlorine are investigated quantum chemically.



Rza Abbasoglu*, Yaprak Uygur &

Abel Magerramov









Design and synthesis of non-cytotoxic tetrahydro­thieno[3,2-c]pyridine derivatives exhibiting comple­­ment inhibition activity

A series of non-cytotoxic 4,5,6,7-tetrahydro-thieno[3,2-c]pyridine analogues exhibiting  improved complement inhibition properties (IC50 78 mM) over existing tetra­hydrothieno[3,2-c]pyridine derivatives have been synthesized.



Hoshang E Master*, Shabana I Khan &

Krishna A Poojari















Synthesis and antitubercular, antiviral and  anti­cancer activity of 3-(3-mercaptoalkyl-7H-[1,2,4]­tri­azolo[3,4-b][1,3,4]thiadiazin-6-yl)chromen-2-one and its derivatives

Reaction of various 3-(2-bromoacetyl)coumarins 1 with 4-amino-5-mercapto alkyl-4H-[1,2,4]triazole-3-thiols 2 in anhydrous ethanol furnish corresponding 3-(3-mercaptoalkyl-7H-[1,2,4]triazolo[3,4-b][1,3,4]-thiadiazin-6-yl)chromen-2-ones 3.The compounds 3a-f and 3s-t are further converted into their thioethers by reaction with phenacyl chloride.







P Vijaya Kumar & V Rajeswar Rao









Synthesis and antimicrobial activity of new isoxazolyl-1,3-benzoxazines

New isoxazolyl-1,3-benzoxazines are synthesized from 4-amino-3,5-dimethyl isoxazole by condensation with different salicylaldehyde, followed by reduction and subsequent smooth ring closure in presence of formaldehyde.







E Rajanarendar*, G Mohan & A Siva Rami Reddy









Synthesis and anti-tuberculosis activity of 2,4-disubstituted quinolines


Anti-tuberculosis activities of 2,4-disubstituted quinolines synthesized in six steps from isatin are reported.








A Nayyar &  R Jain*















Conformational analysis of N1,N5‑diacyltetra­hydro‑1,5‑benzodiazepin‑2‑ones using NMR spectra and semiempirical MO calculations

The N1,N5‑diacetyl- and N1,N5‑dibenzoyltetrahydro-4-methyl‑1,5‑benzodiazepin‑2‑ones (4 and 5, respectively) prefer boat conformations BE with endo orientations of the acyl groups at N1 and exo orientations of the acyl groups at N5 positions.



M Venkatraj*, S Ponnuswamy & R Jeyaraman









Synthesis of condensed pyrimidines and their evaluation for anti-inflammatory and analgesic activities

A number of condensed pyrimidine derivatives 1 and 3-8 have been synthesized by the condensation of 4-isothiocyanato-4-methylpentane-2-one with 1,2 diamino­cyclohexane, 3-amino-2-naphthol, 1-amino-2-naphthol hydrochloride, 3-amino-2-naphthoic acid, 1,3-diamino-2-hydroxypropane and 1,3 diaminoguanidinehydrochloride respectively. Condensation of 3-isothiocyanatobutanal with 1, 2-diaminocyclohexane and 1,3-diaminoguanidine hydro­chloride gives compounds 2 and 9. On anti-inflammatory and analgesic activity evaluation compounds 1 and 8 exhibit good analgesic activity.



Sham M Sondhi*, Shubhi Jain,

Amarendra Dhar Dwivedi, Rakesh Shukla & Ram Raghubir





Synthesis of some new 2-(4-alkylthiophenoxy)-4-substituted-1,3-thiazoles as possible anti-inflam­matory and antimicrobial agents


Some novel 1,3-thiazoles 4a-q, 6a-j containing 4-alkylthio phenoxy group at position 2 and aryl/substituted alkyl moiety at position 4 have been synthesized from ethyl [4-(alkylthio) phenoxy] acetates. The newly synthesized compounds have been characterized by IR, 1H and 13C NMR and mass spectral studies. These compounds have been screened for their anti-inflammatory, antibacterial and antifungal activity. Preliminary results reveal that some of the tested compounds show promising biological activity.



Karabasanagouda T, Airody Vasudeva Adhikari*,

Ramgopal Dhanwad &G Parameshwarappa














Friedel-Craft reaction in dry media under micro­wave irradiation

Friedel-Craft reaction on aromatic and hetero aromatic compounds in dry media under microwave irradiation has been carried out successfully using acid washed montmorillonite K10 clay as well as TLC grade silica gel as heterogeneous catalyst. This method enhances the rate of the reaction, increases yields and purity of products.


Nirada Devi* & Mausumi Ganguly









Microwave and ultrasound assisted synthesis of 16-methyl-8(Z)-heptadecenoic and 16-methyl-6(Z)-heptadecenoic acids





Jasamrit Kaur, Irvinder Kaur, Sonu,

Goverdhan L Kad & Jasvinder Singh*









Formation and antimicrobial activity of 2-azetidinones from selective ester cleavage in 1,3,3-trisubstituted 4-[2’-(O-diarylacyl)-hydroxy­phe­nyl]-2-azetidinones

A selective ester cleavage in the titled compounds using NaOH in EtOH afforded new 2-azetidinones with antibacterial and antifungal activity.



G S Singh* & T Pheko









Nardal, a new sesquiterpene aldehyde from the plant, Nardostachys jatamansi DC

Nardal, a new bicyclic sesquiterpene aldehyde has been reported from Nardostachys jatamansi DC and its structure has been elucidated based on the spectral data of its 2,4-DNP derivative and its comparison with known compound.



G Venkateswara Rao*, T Annamalai  &
T Mukhopadhyay















Two new clerodane diterpenoid glucosides and other constituents from the roots of Elsholtzia bodinieri Vant


Two new clerodane diterpenoid glucosides have been isolated from the roots of Elsholtzia bodinieri Van′t. Their structures have been elucidated as 6-hydroxy-(-)-hard­wickiic acid 2′-β-D-glucopyranosylbenzyl ester 1 and 6,7-dihydro­xy-(-)-hardwickiic acid 2′-β-D-glucopyranosyl­benzyl ester 2 by spectroscopic and chemical methods.



1 R= -H 2 R= -OH




Haobin Hu*, Hong Cao, Yufeng Jian,

Xudong Zheng & Jianxin Liu









The synthesis of some new (1-aryl-5-methyl-1H-1,2,3-triazol-4-yl) diarylmethanol

The synthesis of some new (1-aryl-5-methyl-1H-1,2,3-triazol- 4-yl)diarylmethanol derivatives has been reported.





Heng-Shan Dong*, Guo-Yong Huo & Zhi-Tao Ma









Authors for correspondence are indicated by (*)