Indian Journal of Chemistry

Sect. B: Organic Chemistry including Medicinal Chemistry

Total visitors: 3,608  since 14-07-08

VOL. 47B


June 2008







Copolyesters based on s-triazine moiety: Synthesis and characterization


Ten copolyesters have been synthesized by high temperature polycondensation of 2-(β-naphthylamino)-4,6-bis(naphthoxy-3-carbonyl chloride)-s-triazine [NANCCT] with each of the mixture of diols:[Bisphenol-A(BPA)+ Bisphenol-C(BPC)], [BPA+Hydroquinone(Hq)], etc. All the copolyesters have been characterized by solubility, density, viscosity measurements, IR and NMR spectra and thermogravimetric analysis.







Bhupesh V Patel, Hemant S Patel &

Keshav C Patel*










Theoretical studies on the initiation of alkylation pathway by aziridine ring of Mitomycin C at guanine nucleobase of DNA



Alkylation pathway



Murshida Karim, Rajib L Sarma & C Medhi*









Synthesis, b-adrenergic receptor binding and antihypertensive potential of vanillin-derived phenoxy­propanolamines

A new anti-hypertensive phenoxypropanolamine derived from vanillin is reported.







Mohane S Coumar*, Dharam P Jindal, Giancarlo Bruni,

Paola Massarelli, Randhir Singh, Amit K Sharma,

K Nandakumar & Subhash L Bodhankar









Synthesis of ureidopeptides using pentafluoro­phenyl carbamates from Nα-Fmoc-peptide acids


Fmoc-peptidyl pentaflourophenyl carbamates have been synthesized from corresponding Fmoc-peptidyl isocyanates. Their utility as key intermediates in the synthesis of tri, penta and hexapeptidyl ureas is also demonstrated.






Vommina Venkata Suresh Babu* &

Rao Venkataramanarao















Pentafluorophenyl - (tert - butoxycarbonylamino)­methyl carbamates: Synthesis, isolation and application to the synthesis of ureidopeptides

A single-pot conversion of Boc amino acids into penta­fluorophenyl-(tert-butoxycarbonylamino)methyl carba­mates through concomitant rearrangement and coupling reactions has been described. The methylcarbamates prepared accordingly have been used as reactive building blocks for the synthesis of dipeptidyl ureas.








Vommina Venkata Suresh Babu*, N Narendra &











Microwave studies on synthesis of biologically active chalcone derivatives.

Synthesis of pyrazole derivative using microwave energy from p-hydroxy-acetophenone.





Sushama Katade*, Usha Phalgune, Sujata Biswas, Radhika Wakharkar & Nirmala Deshpande










Synthesis and study of some compounds containing oxazolone ring, showing biological activity


Synthesis of the oxazolone ring has been performed by the condensation of 4-substituted alkoxy benzoyl glycine with appropriate 4-substituted alkoxy benzaldehyde, in the presence of acetic anhydride and anhydrous sodium acetate. The compounds having electron releasing group exhibit antibacterial activity. Compounds with nitro group cause total inhibition of seed germination, exhibiting cytotoxic behaviour.




R C Tandel* & Denni Mammen









Solvent free diacetylation of aldehydes using a solid acid  under microwave irradiation and a simple route to their regeneration

A simple solvent free microwave mediated procedure for the selective protection of aldehydes by conversion to their 1,1-diacetates is reported. The resultant diacetates are deprotected to generate the aldehyde using aqueous formic acid in the presence of a surfactant  in high yield.









Akashi Barua & Pranab J Das*









A new lactone from aerial parts of Tiliacora acuminata

A new lactone 4-hydroxy-3-[heptadeca-5'(e),11'(e)-dienyl]-5-nonadecadihydrofuran-2(3H)-one has been isolated from the aerial parts of both male and female plants of Tiliacora acuminata. Its structure has been determined by spectroscopic methods and chemical reactions.









S Joseph Selvaraj, I Alphonse & S John Britto*










Pachycanthine: A new isoquinoline alkaloid and its antihepatotoxic activity from Berberis pachy­cantha Koehne


The methanolic extract of whole plant of Berberis pachycantha Koehne (Berberidaceae) has afforded a new isoquinoline alkaloid, designated as  pachycanthine 1, which was characterized as 8,9-dimethoxy-5,6,12a,6a-tetrahydro-2H-1,3-dioxoleno[4,5-g] isoquinolino [3,2-a] isoquinoline. It exhibited a significant antihepatotoxic activity by 25-53% with respect to standard silybon-70 (36-60%) against CCl4 induced toxicity in Albino Wistar rats.







Bahar Ahmed*, Mubashir H Masoodi & Shamshir Khan










Chemical constituents of Dendrobium gratio­sissimum and their cytotoxic activities

Two new bibenzyl derivatives, named dengraols A 1 and B 2, are isolated from stems of Dendrobium gratiosissimum Rchb. (Orchidaceae), together with seven known compounds: 3,5,4-trihydroxybibenzyl 3, 3, 4 - dihydroxy – 5 - methoxybibenzyl 4, 3, 4 – dihydroxy - 5, 4 - dimethoxy bibenzyl 5, 3, 4 - dihydroxy - 4, 5, 3 - trimethoxybibenzyl (moscatilin) 6 and 5, 4′- dihydroxy -3, 3- dimethoxybibenzyl (gigantol) 7, 5, 3′, 4′ - trihydroxy - 3- methoxy­bibenzyl (tristin) 8 and 5, 3- dihydroxy- 3-methoxy­bibenzyl (batatasin III) 9. Among the isolated compounds, dengraols A 1 and B 2, moscatilin 6 and gigantol 7 showed inhibitory activity of proliferation on HL-60 cells.


Chao-Feng Zhang*, Min Wang, Lei Wang, Munekazu Iinuma, Mian Zhang, Luo-Shan Xu & Zheng-Tao Wang









Quantitative structure-activity relationship studies of a new class of selective aldose reductase inhibitors

QSAR analysis on a series of [1,2,4]triazino[4,3-a] benzi­midazole acetic acid derivatives with selective aldose reductase inhibitor activity is made using a combination of various physicochemical descriptors.





R Sharma*, P K Sahoo & S C Chaturvedi












Beckmann rearrangement of α-oximinoketones

α- Oximinoketones undergo both first order and second order Beckmann rearrangements.





B N Hitesh Kumar,T Prakasam,

P S Srinivasan, Bhanumathi Arabindoo &

D V Ramana*









Ceric(IV) ammonium nitrate catalyzed synthesis of b-enaminones


b-Enaminones have been synthesized in good yield from 1,3-dicarbonyl compounds and activated amines in the presence of ceric ammonium nitrate as catalyst.







M Paira, R Misra & S C Roy*












Authors for correspondence are indicated by (*)