Indian Journal of Chemistry

Sect. A: Inorganic, Bio-inorganic, Physical, Theoretical & Analytical;

Total visitors: 7926 since 06-02-2013

CODEN: ICACEC; ISSN: 0376-4710 (Print), 0975-0975 (Online)















Theoretical study of the stereodynamics of the reaction Ne+HD+ → NeH++D





















Y-L Wang*, D-Z Su & K Wang




The reaction probabilities calculated by TDWP and QCT approaches exhibit resonance structures, which can be explained from the potential well on the PES.







Gold nanoparticles supported on titania for the reduction of p-nitrophenol

















Hanani Yazid, Rohana Adnan* &
Muhammad Akhyar Farrukh




Gold nanoparticles supported on titania are effective catalysts for the reduction of p-nitrophenol, with a noticeable effect of the
Au particle size and pH on the catalytic activity.







Synthesis, crystal structure and spectroscopic investigations on organic complex salt and its interaction with bovine serum albumin




























Fa-Yan Meng, Sheng-Rong Yu, Lin Ma &
Cui-Wu Lin




A new organic complex salt based on chlorogenic acid with
has been synthesized and characterized. The complex adopts 1:1 stoichiometry in the solid state. The proton transfer occurs from the carboxyl oxygen to the aromatic nitrogen atom to form the salt. The Hphen molecule individually occupies the pseudo-tetragonum that is formed with chlorogenic acid. The self-assembly of the compound in solid state is caused by a hydrogen-bonding interaction.









Oxidation of glycine by diperiodatocuprate(III) in aqueous alkaline medium






















Jayant I Gowda, Rohini M Hanabaratti,
Nandini A Pattanashetti & Sharanappa T Nandibewoor




Oxidation of glycine by diperiodatocuprate(III) in aqueous alkaline medium is studied spectrophotometrically at varying temperatures. A mechanism involving the monoperiodato-cuprate(III) as the reactive species of oxidant is proposed.


H2NCH2COOH + 4[Cu(HO)2(H3IO6) + 3OH






HCOOH + NH4+ + 4Cu(OH)2 + 4H3IO62 + CO2 + H2O









Excimer formation in inclusion complexes
of antihypertensive drugs with HP-α- and

























M Jude Jenita, G Venkatesh, V K Subramanian &
N Rajendiran




Inclusion complexation behavior of three antihypertensive drugs, viz., salbutamol, sotalol and atenolol, with hydroxypropyl-α-cyclodextrin and hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin is investigated. In the presence of CDs, dual emission is observed, whereas in the absence of CDs, single emission is seen. Addition of CD to aqueous solutions of the drugs results in excimer emission, which is due to a 1:2 inclusion complex between the CD and the drugs.








Electrocatalytic oxidation of hydroquinone with Cu2+ modified gold-L-cysteine self-assembled monolayer electrodes























Kaushik Barman & Sk Jasimuddin*




The Au-L-cysteine-Cu2+ electrode exhibits better electrocatalytic activity than the Au-L-cysteine and bare Au electrodes for oxidation of hydroquinone.









Catalytic effect of CTAB reverse micelles on the reduction of toluidine blue by ascorbic acid























M Padma, P Shyamala*, A Satyanarayana,
P V Subba Rao & Asha Mathew




The reduction of toluidine blue by ascorbic acid is ~60 times faster in the CTAB/CHCl3/hexane/water reverse micellar medium as compared to reduction in aqueous medium. The significant increase is attributed to the concentration effect produced in the reverse micelles and lower micropolarity of the reverse micelles, which facilitates the reaction between oppositely charged ions.









Sodium chlorite-iodine-methyl acetoacetate oscillatory reaction investigated by UV-vis spectrophotometry

























Laishun Shi*, Na Li, Jie Liu, Yanan Qian, Bing Yang & Sha Lin




Initial concentrations of methyl acetoacetate, sodium chlorite, iodine and sulfuric acid influence the oscillation at 297 nm for the triiodide ion. Changes in the reaction rate with reaction time and the initial concentrations in the oscillation stage show that the oscillation reaction is accelerated on increasing the temperature.








Authors for correspondence are indicated by (*)